MMA News

Kritsada Kongsrichai's ONE Championship 70 win overturned due to this illegal suplex

By

on


Kritsada Kongsrichai went from a winning fighter to a defeated one just a day later.

At Saturday’s “ONE Championship 70: Iron Will” event (watch the full highlights above), Kongsrichai (6-4) defeated fellow strawweight Robin Catalan (6-3) via first-round TKO.

In a Twitter-streamed preliminary-card bout at Impact Arena in Bangkok, Thailand, Kongsrichai lifted and suplexed Catalan to force a stoppage at the 1:40 mark of the opening round.

Here’s the slam, which forced an injured Catalan to tap out as the ref halted the action (via Twitter):

Following the bout, ONE Championship CEO Chatri Sityodtong issued a statement to clarify that the suplex was illegal – even within the Asian promotion’s liberal rules set – and therefore the victory was overturned and now results in a disqualification loss.

“After careful video review of the fight under multiple angles, it has been deemed that an illegal suplex was utilized,” Sityodtong wrote. “At ONE Championship, all variations of suplexes are illegal and any attempt or intent results in an automatic disqualification. Robin Catalan will now be awarded the victory, and his win bonus. It will also be ruled a loss via DQ for Kritsada Kongsrichai and his official fight record. As a fellow lifelong martial artist, I fully understand that no athlete wants to win or lose under the cloud of a DQ. However, as the leader of ONE Championship, I am here to ensure that safety is the #1 priority at all times for all of our athletes.”

Here’s the full statement (via Facebook):

Despite the DQ, Kongsrichai will still receive his win bonus, according to company officials.

For more on ONE Championship 70, check out the MMA Events section of the site.



Source link

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *